Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical gauges

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by WP38, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. WP38
    Joined: Jan 23, 2015
    Posts: 268

    WP38
    Member

    Would anyone have any links or advice on using and restoring gauges from a 1938 international?
    I would like to use them if possible. The international ran off a 6 volt system.
    I would need some type of a speedo cable adaptor to run a cable to a TH350 transmission.
    Will post a couple pictures if it helps. I would need a new voltage gauge instead of OAMS.
     
  2. Quite a few rebuilders around......I used Bob's Speedometer a while back to rebuild a speedo from a 57 Stude. That is the Cyclops type unit and is quite unique. It cost 500 to get it rebuilt but it was beautiful.
    If your search for voltage regulators you will find a lot of threads on different ways to step down 12 to 6 for the gauge power. The speedo cable builders can make anything you need for a replacement cable for that T350
     
  3. mgtstumpy
    Joined: Jul 20, 2006
    Posts: 7,722

    mgtstumpy
    Member

    Posted previously, I used all new late model VDO movements in my 46 Olds as I wanted instruments to look OEM. Upgraded the facia with new decals for everything, even the tacho and clock. Clock1.JPG dDash-.JPG Speedo2.JPG
     
  4. Jalopy Joker
    Joined: Sep 3, 2006
    Posts: 23,973

    Jalopy Joker
    Member

    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. vtx1800
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 904

    vtx1800
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Assuming the units are just dirty I'd suggest disassembling and cleaning, the car in the avatar at the left had a speedo issue (the old bouncing needle as you drove down the road) so when I took the dash out to paint and rewire I took the speedometer to a friend that fixes clocks and watches, he took the speedometer mechanism apart, cleaned it up and regreased it, it works fine now. I used voltage dropping resistors on the gauges that were electrically operated. Now I like the original patina if it isn't too bad, but that's just me.
     
  6. rexrogers
    Joined: Sep 18, 2007
    Posts: 1,033

    rexrogers
    Member

    We have used Bod's speedometer in the past and they have done a great job for us in rebuilding complete gauge sets, to just refurbishing the internals and leaving the patina in tact.
     
  7. $um Fun
    Joined: Dec 13, 2008
    Posts: 500

    $um Fun
    Member
    from Nor Cal

  8. rfraze
    Joined: May 23, 2012
    Posts: 1,995

    rfraze
    Member

    Williamson's in Chester, Arkansas did the gauges for me when I was building Bob Sichting's Diamond T. They do great work and can even make mechanical temp senders any length you specify.
    IMG_0002.jpg IMG_0004.jpg IMG_0005.jpg
     
  9. BJR
    Joined: Mar 11, 2005
    Posts: 6,000

    BJR
    Member

    How about a picture of what you have now?
     
  10. WP38
    Joined: Jan 23, 2015
    Posts: 268

    WP38
    Member

    Here it is in all it's glory
     

    Attached Files:

  11. BJR
    Joined: Mar 11, 2005
    Posts: 6,000

    BJR
    Member

    We have the same cluster installed in my sons 47 KB3 pickup. We replaced the speedo and gauges with ones from a Ford Ranger IIRC. They fit in the holes of the cluster. Grab the sending units when you get the gauges if you do the same.
     
  12. WP38
    Joined: Jan 23, 2015
    Posts: 268

    WP38
    Member

    $_35.jpg
    May I ask what year ranger , is it like this one ? might be an idea. I like the old look of original gauges . would you send me some pictures of his truck thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2016
  13. If using late-model gauges, check to see if the oil pressure gauge is 'fake'. What I mean by fake, Ford got complaints from customers when the gauge read low at idle or fluctated. It seems explanations didn't help, so somewhere in the late 80s or early 90s they rigged the 'gauge' to read more-or-less the same as long as there was any adequate pressure available, in effect it's now the same as an idiot light. I've heard that GM and Mopar followed suit, so if you're looking for an actual gauge, these aren't it.
     
  14. WP38
    Joined: Jan 23, 2015
    Posts: 268

    WP38
    Member

    Most likely it looks like I will buy a new speedo and place it in the existing frame . The other guages will place in on a seporate bracket.
     
  15. silversink
    Joined: May 3, 2008
    Posts: 912

    silversink
    Member

    those gauges will work --all you have to do is get a voltage reducer for the electrical, there are places that can put a chev. end on your speedo cable. Ford used those same gauges up into the 60s---I have an extra gauge cluster for a KB.
     
  16. WP38
    Joined: Jan 23, 2015
    Posts: 268

    WP38
    Member

    Thanks I have no cable yet just planing so far. Cheers . So a chevy cable should work like a old Camaro style ?
     
  17. silversink
    Joined: May 3, 2008
    Posts: 912

    silversink
    Member

    the important one is if it works on the speedometer, the other end can be easily changed
     
  18. David Gersic
    Joined: Feb 15, 2015
    Posts: 2,020

    David Gersic
    Member
    from DeKalb, IL

    I read that about Ford elsewhere as well. Supposedly the gauge is the same, they just changed the sender. Instead of a proper variable sender, it's now an on/off switch. Installing a correct sender makes the gauge work correctly.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.