Register now to get rid of these ads!

GARAGE VIDEO PRODUCTION--Sandblast and etch prime wheels

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by overspray, Apr 19, 2009.

1. overspray

overspray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Well my son came over to sandblast some wheels and prime them for his car, so we decided to do some HOW-TO short videos. I hope you guys that want to try some first time spraying get some benefit from these. I will answer questions and I hope some of the other paint guys will add some information as well. This is geared toward do-it-yourself in the garage projects.

Even though we are doing wheels, these techniques and products can apply to many small to medium parts and pieces.

Keep in mind I'm not a professional filmmaker, but I hope you enjoy the results.

If you don't have a small gun you can turn the pattern and fluid down on a big gun, but you need more air pressure to make the big gun work (atomize) because the material is coming through a bigger hole (orafice/tip size). The smaller guns are relatively inexpensive when you buy the copy cat makes and they will usually pay for them selves in material savings.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2022
  2. overspray

overspray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Here's TomH's wheel painting "barbecue rotisary". It works slick!

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=62177

Here's the Nason equvilent of the Sikkens etch primer (with filling capability)
    https://www.oreillyauto.com/detail/...1-gallon-green-etch-primer/nas0/491171?pos=20

Here's the Transtar finish tech primers. They have similar etch primers as well as epoxy and urethane. Click in the product and the tech info.

https://www.tat-co.com/TranstarAutobodyTechnologies/media/TATCo/Product Assets/English Datasheets/transtar_tds_6111.pdf?ext=.pdf

Here's the PPG Omni 2 part etch primer.
    https://images.oreillyauto.com/parts/img/documents/ppg/ob60+mp220+chrome+free+etch+primer+09+15.pdf

There are basically 2 kinds of etch primer.