Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical fresh 327

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by jan bogert, Dec 12, 2014.

1. jan bogert

jan bogert

so i got a fresh 327 for my '41 willys. I am trying to break in the cam. I got spark at all the plugs. got fuel pressure at 5lbs. brought #1 up on top dead center and the rotor is right on #1 plug wire. the motor just keeps stumbling it won't catch or run. I'm baffled, there's no backfire, or popping, any suggestions welcome.

2. Jan
    I have been playing with small blocks for 40+ years and still manage to get 'em 180 put when shooting for TDC. Maybe double check and make sure one that you are turning it the right direction and two that you are looking at the intake closing and not the exhaust.

Not saying that you screwed that up but its worth a try.

AHotRod likes this.
  3. King ford

King ford
    from 08302

You sure your at tdc on compression stroke?...stick your finger in the spark plug hole a little ways and crank till you feel compression ....then to tdc.....

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

AHotRod likes this.
  4. Back to the top for ya Jan. maybe someone else has better advice.

5. Pinstripe_Chuck

Pinstripe_Chuck

I like to bring #1 to about 8-10 degrees BTDC (maybe more depending on your cam) and set the distributor rotor right to #1. Make sure its on the compression stroke of course. Gives it enough advance to usually fire right up, assuming everything else is in order. Get your float bowls filled too, you dont want to dry crank a new cam too much. Did you prime the oil pump before sticking the dist? Usually if dist is 180 out it will pop and backfire.

Last edited: Dec 12, 2014
  6. I had a similar problem firing my 283 this spring. All the planets were aligned, would start, barely run then quit. I actually had the fuel lines reversed at the (mechanical) fuel pump. easy fix. Don't tell anyone ok? Tim

loudbang and jakespeed63 like this.