Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ford Y-Block Pics and Ideas

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MAD-EVAN, Dec 9, 2008.

1. MAD-EVAN

MAD-EVAN

I am in the process of building a 292 to put in my Fairlane. I would like to see some pics of any y-blocks people have or have had. Also any ideas about what to do or what not to do would be nice. Im new to y-blocks and Im just trying to absorb anything I can.

2. MAD-EVAN

MAD-EVAN

Here are my "redone" valve covers. I took the paint off of these, my air cleaner, and intake so far. I put a high temp clear coat on them. To me its like the poor mans chrome. Kind of cool to just see the bare metal. Call me crazy, but I like it.

Attached Files:

3. [​IMG]

thats my 292 that is now in my '54 ford. If you swap intakes, you'll find that the gaskets are for one side only. I wouldn't pull the dizzy, because they're real tough to get back in. Do you have a manual for a 56-57 ford? that would probably help you with all the info on them. '59's manual may have y-block infor in it, Im unsure.

4. MAD-EVAN

MAD-EVAN

My Fairlane is a 59 and the manual I have for it does have some info on the 292, including 15 steps to remove the bastard. I have another 292 that is from a F100. My plan is to use the truck block and just build onto that. Im told I need to get different heads, so the hunt has begun.

5. MAD-EVAN

MAD-EVAN

Damn nice engine by the way.

6. '55 Mercury 292 cid, '57 Ford 4bbl intake, '60 292 distro w/Pertronix upgrade, & will have a Ford Mdl 4100 4bbl carb from a '63 390/406 with a modified '56 Caddy batwing air filter, going in a '56 Fairlane. Before and after (isn't quite done yet) pictures

Attached Files:

7. what he said! Very nice!

8. jimmyv

jimmyv

Putting this one in my 31 coupe

Attached Files:

• y2_2.JPG
      y2_2.JPG
      File size:
      31.5 KB
      Views:
  9. Thumper

Thumper

10. A Chopped Coupe

A Chopped Coupe