Register now to get rid of these ads!

ford 460 distributor in a ford 400m???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by oldskool55, Jul 8, 2005.

1. oldskool55

oldskool55
    from socal

i want to get rid of the electronic crap on my 400. i have a points distributor in my garage for a 460. will it work in the 400 or do i have to live with all that electronic crap? also with the points distributor how do i wire it?

2. oldskool55

oldskool55
    from socal

anybody??? i need to know

3. Mule Farmer

Mule Farmer
    from Holland MI

I have used 400m distbutors in 429's and 460's so it should work. I would put the whole 460 in and get rid of the 400m I never liked those,low oil presser,rod knockin,no balls, gas pigs. When me and my freinds were younger we would get a truck with a 351m or a 400m we would jurk them out first thing.

Wish I could help ya with the wiring but Im not that good at that.

bret

4. oldskool55

oldskool55
    from socal

yeah i know what you mean but the 460 is in my dads 56... i do like the torque the 400 has does great rolling burnouts through all 3 gears:D plus i got it dirt cheap and the guy that built it did a couple things to it. thanks ill figure out how to wire it... its just one wire so it cant go too many places. i know it eith goes to the + or - side of the coil.

5. Fat Hack

Fat Hack
    from Detroit

Yes, distributors will swap in and out of 429/460 engines, 351-400M engines and 351C engines.

All the same.

6. Strokerswild

Strokerswild

Yeah, the 400 is a pooch in stock form. But they can be made to perform admirably with little work since they are an air pump like any other engine. The key is that long 4" stroke, the longest of the Ford V8s.