Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ever got hurt under a car?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Insane 1, Mar 18, 2008.

1. Insane 1

Insane 1
    from Ennis TX

I've been watching a guy take the gas tank out of a Lincon for a couple of days now using only a bumper jack to hold up the back of the car, and I thought that was bad, but.......... :eek:

[​IMG]

2. yeah had a cheap jack stand fail and almost crushed my ass , and that was 50 lbs lighter!

3. lotus

lotus
    from Taft, CA

guy down the street was working with another guy and he thought they were both out....lowered the truck and heard a scream. i cringe just thinking about it.

I am so paranoid myself that I use multiple jack stands, a jack and most of the time put a chain around the frame and hook it up to the engine picker too.

4. Derek Mitchell

Derek Mitchell

About every day. Mechanic by trade and always fucking myself, or others, up.

5. MIKE-3137

MIKE-3137

I have a friend who purchased a 69 Camaro from the mother of the 18 year old previous owner who was found dead under it, after the jack slipped.:( So, i'm paranoid when it comes to getting under cars. I'd never trust just a jack.

6. Ruiner

Ruiner

I won't get under any car without multiple jackstands, a jack within arm's reach and when alone my cell phone at my side...call me paranoid, but I know the EMT's would have trouble moving my 400+ pound ass around if I got hurt...

7. 56Sedan

56Sedan

I can imagine. When I was in High School I worked as a remover for a local funeral home.... I saw shit I didn't think was possible.

I've been hurt a few times under a car/truck.

Had a driveshaft I was working on under a school bus fall and beat the crap out of my leg. I thought it was broken, but wasn't.

Another time I had gas drip in my eyes and burnt like hell.

8. had a friend put a clutch in my Dodge. Pulled the tailshaft out on a incline!!