Register now to get rid of these ads!

Edelbrock / Fuel Pressure Varies?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrod13, Jul 12, 2008.

1. hotrod13

hotrod13
    from Austin, TX

OK... I'm a newbie, so please bear with me. I haven't had a "real" car since my '78 Smokey and The Bandit Trans Am... and I'm sure there could be some debate over that also. Had some issues with the '54 Bel Air last week, and would like to understand what happened.

Set up: 350, 350 Turbo, Edelbrock 1406 (600 cfm), Edelbrock 8134 Feed w/ inline filter *

* This is the blue and red filter, but mine has what looks to be a Summit pressure gauge comming out of it (liquid filled w/ the turned metal face). I haven't seen any of these Edelbrock filters with a port for the pressure guage (when searching online). Anyone know the model number for this?

Looks like this, but w/ a guage port in the center of the filter body.
    http://performanceparts.com/part.php?partID=98923

Anyway... car has been running great since I got it in March, but things went like this last week.

Day 1 - Went for a 15 mile run w/ no problems. After returning to pick up wifey, we headed out again. About 6 miles from home I opened it up a bit on the service road... and when I let off, it just started loosing power, and quit by the time I got to the intersection. Got it running long enough to pull into a parking lot - but extremely rich... lots of black smoke, and had some fuel coming out of the carb by the boosters. Fuel pressure seemed high (7), as I believe it was in the (4-5) range previously. Drove about 5 miles at highway speeds and stopped at a gas station, still black smoke, and would kill itself if idling. Fuel pressure read (0)???? Took her home.

Day 2 - Let it set overnight, started hard, same