Register now to get rid of these ads!

Drum brake help!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by wide34, Jan 4, 2011.

1. wide34

wide34
    from Texas

I have a wilwood 7/8" bore master cylinder feeding disc brakes in front (2 lb. residual valve) and feeding a proportioning valve then a 10 lb. residual valve and finally the slave cylinders in a 69 ford rear end. My problem is that I cannot lock up the rear brakes no matter what I try, the front brakes lock up fine with the proportioning valve closed.
    I do have immediate pressure at the discharge of the proportioning valve, but I have to push the pedal approx. 2 inches before the slave cylinder moves. In addition I cannot get the emergency brake to hold either, it feels like it is bound up but with the drum off I can move it freely.
    I should have mentioned all the components are new. I do get some brake grab but cannot get them to lock up. It almost seems like I have the wrong drum but it is an 11 inch drum that is supposed to be the correct drum.
    Any suggestions would really be welcome, especialy before I go totally nuts!!
    Thanks, Tom

2. Try smaller rear wheel cylinders.

Oh, and can the prop valve until you get the brakes close with sizing of the calipers/wheel cylinders.

Cosmo

3. are the rear brake shoes worn in and adjusted correctly?

4. willowbilly3

willowbilly3
    Member Emeritus
    from Sturgis

Are the drums new? One thing almost nobody pays any attention to on drum brakes is the shoe arc. If you have turned the drums or they are well worn, a new set of shoes may have a very small contact patch. In the old days they used to arc the shoes in, usually by grinding the lining until the shoes fit the drum.

5. F&J

F&J

X2...

Pull the drums and look at the shoe contact before doing anything else.

It will not lock up or hold on E-brake until you get nearly full contact.