Register now to get rid of these ads!

custom paint guys -- tell me your story

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flamedolds, Sep 3, 2009.

1. flamedolds

flamedolds

This is a little long winded so if you take the time to read it and comment I would really appreciate it.
    Recently I picked up a new project and in trying to find a way to make it half assed look better til I could afford a paint job I have discovered that I am obsessed with painting.
    I've been a Journeyman Auto tech for 11 years and working in GM dealers for 15 have always done my own mechanical on vehicles but always saw painting as something "out of reach" to me. I don't know why -- maybe the same reason the painters at dealers I've worked at had me do the simplest of things on their cars for them mechanically. At the same time though from the time I was a kid I was always repainting my Hot Wheels cars and toys and have drawn and painted (on paper/canvas) since I was little. So I figured with the new project "hey maybe I can half ass something for now". I set up a "Dr Frankenstien" lab in my garage and started going at it. All I have available to me is spray cans at this point and as I started to see the results and reactions from friends at some of the designs I've laid out and painted just with cans I no longer want to half ass anything. I am more interested in the full ass. I know you don't just jump on board and start doing amazing kandy and flake paint jobs BUT I am willing to put the time in to get there no matter how many peices of discarded metal shelving or salvage yard fenders and hoods it takes to get me there. If not well hey... I tried.