Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Converter to Flexplate Gap and Shimming

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by indestructableforce, Apr 26, 2016.

1. I'm converting my beater to an automatic and I've got everything mounted. The flexplate is a basic 168 tooth from summit and I've started it with just the flexplate and it didn't have any issues and i inspected it before installation so I don't think it's bent. The transmission is a fresh th350 I had rebuilt by the best local transmission builder and converter is a summit rebuilt cheapo. The converter is fully seated into the transmission and there's about 3/8-inch gap between the mount pads and the flexplate pads and while I've never done this before 3/8 just seems excessive. I understand the converter needs to come out of the transmission some but how much? I can't find an exact amount. Also if I have to shim it, can I use washers or do I have to buy a bunch of over priced shims?

2. squirrel

squirrel

did you install the flexplate the right way?

ClayMart likes this.
  3. I Believe so. Raised portions on flexplate where the converter bolt are facing the transmission.

4. You want about 1/8 inch gap before pulling the converter in, so you definitely have more than that. I have used hardened washers (the heat treated ones that are consistent thickness) to make up the gap when using a mid-mount between the engine and bellhousing, in order to get the gap corrected.

I assume your converter is seating into the end of the crank OK? Also the bellhousing is snug against the block?

5. squirrel

squirrel

that's on the right way. Interesting...if you push the converter forward all the way, is there still a gap between the converter and flexplate?