Register now to get rid of these ads!

Can you mount tube shocks upside down?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 4t64rd, Feb 28, 2008.

1. I can't find short enough shocks with the right ends in the right positions, in the right length, (.5" to .625" loop top, 3/8" stem on the bottom) that would work right side up, can they be mounted upside down? Should they be mounted upside down?

And, does anybody have a cross reference for Monroe #555003, I want to find some other options for the front.

Thanks,

P.S. If I can find my camera, I'll do some tech later on this week on Steering column floor mounts.

2. HOT40ROD

HOT40ROD
    from Easton, Pa

I know years ago in dirt tack racing they were mounting the gas filled shocks upside down.

3. Toast

Toast
    from Jenks, OK

Other than looking a little strange, I don't see a problem. But I am no expert!

4. 52pickup

52pickup
    from Tucson, Az

I would call napa or where ever and give them that number, they should be able to cross reference that number

5. fab32

fab32
    Member Emeritus

The valving is different in the shocks that are mounted upside down. As already stated some of the circle track units are made that way to save unsprung weight.

Frank

6. revkev6

revkev6
    from ma

that's not true at all fab. shocks only work in two ways. compression and rebound. there is no way for the shock to distinguish right side up or upside down. it only knows I'm being squished, or I'm being pulled apart.

oil filled shocks cannot be mounted upside down. gas shocks can. if the shock has a dust cover on it I would not mount it upside down because it will fill the dust cover with water and destroy the shock.

7. Weasel

Weasel

In the southern hemisphere yes....only kidding.

Physically maybe, technically no. Unless they were designed to be mounted that way don't do it. Safety is no accident.....