Register now to get rid of these ads!

Can a large magnet screw up a mig weld???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by allengator, Dec 28, 2009.

1. allengator

allengator
    from Keller, TX

Ok... I am trying to teach myself to mig weld... (with the help of the internet.

I got pretty decent at laying down a bead on a cleaned up area of an old test fender...
    Then I started practicing filling in holes with the use of a homade copper back plate...

Getting decent at both...

Yesterday I decided to weld a patch to fill a 2" x 3" hole...
    I cut a patch out of sheet metal I picked up at Home Depot (22 gauge I think) Had a pretty good fit and stuck a big magnet to the back of the fender to hold the patch in place.

When I went to weld it, I couldnt get the welder to lay a bead. Just spit and sputtered like crazy!! I upped the voltage, played with wire speed, moved the ground around. NO GOOD!

move back to the other area of the fender and could lay a bead...

Last night I got to thinking, could it be the big magnet???

2. AllSteel36

AllSteel36
    from California

I've used magnets before without problems..

Curious as to what type of metal you got at HD?

3. Da Tinman

Da Tinman

For sure, welding near a magnet will screw it up something fierce and the bigger the magnet the worse it fucks up, same with a tig.

weld as far away from the magnet as you can, then reposition magnet and go again.

4. RichG

RichG

Magnetism will affect a welder, I used to work in an aluminum smelter and there was a HUGE magnetic field in there. We had to weld pipe under the cell line and the magnetism would do really weird things like pull your weld away from the stick, drag your puddle sideway, strange stuff.

5. shawnspeed

shawnspeed
    from Attica Mi

You bet ....welding in a magnetic field is like pissing in the wind... everywhere but where you want it....you have to get away from the field to get back to normal

6. flatford39

flatford39