Register now to get rid of these ads!

buying my first potential rod

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by matthewsuckerpunch, Aug 29, 2007.

1. matthewsuckerpunch

matthewsuckerpunch
    from Austin TX

im going sept 10th to hopefully buy a 1918 model T... i know its old and its going to be my first to-be hotrod. i was hopin i could get some advice that isnt "dont get it" type stuff. being that im a vw guy by trade, i might try to use a modified vw chassis for starts if this one is in horrible shape and work my way up to building my own frame. but hey, if theres anyone in northwest arkansas that wants to take me under their wing(s) and show me the hotrod ropes, i will be your slave.

matthew

2. SaltCityCustoms

SaltCityCustoms

Let me be the first to say don't use a VW chassis under it, you will never get it to look right and I think you will catch flak everywhere you go.

3. What body style is it? Post pics when you get it. and don't do anything to it, until you know what you want. DON'T USE THE VW CHASSIS!!!!!!!!!!!

4. slddnmatt

slddnmatt

a link pin front end and a swing axle just wouldn't be right. im a vw guy to, still have my first one a 63 rag but there is no way i would ever put some vintage tin on a belly pan or even a fabbed frame with vw suspension unless its a vw !! but thats just me

5. matthewsuckerpunch

matthewsuckerpunch
    from Austin TX

i pass the damn thing on the way to my shop everyday and noticed it was on an auction listing and the guy has had 2 other auctions prior to this and it hasnt sold. so im hopin i can pick it up cheap. its got all 4 wheels on it and rolls ( i know this cause it moves around the guys yard almost every other day) so i doubt ill have to do anything more than put some cheap pans in it and some of the usual repairs (breaks and shit) and i wasnt thinkin vw suspension on it. im just kindof brainstorming and thinking out loud.