Register now to get rid of these ads!

buying a welder finally.. Whats your choice?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Draggin wagon, Nov 5, 2011.

1. Draggin wagon

Draggin wagon

im no welder, and im tired of askin someone to weld shit for me.. Time to invest... im gonna buy a mig and i have my eye on the miller 211... What r you guys useing, and the likes and dislikes.. remember... im a beginner... when your on a budget and consider it a investment you like to do research.. thanks!!

2. Deuce Roadster

Deuce Roadster
    Member Emeritus

[​IMG]

I think it would be a good unit.

I bought a 110 power Hobart and it is OK but it is a little " light duty " for a really good job. It is good for patch panels but not much else.

3. Flatheadguy

Flatheadguy

Cannot go wrong with Miller.

4. swissmike

swissmike

Hobart Handler 187 at Tractor Supply for under $600. It's a 220V machine and is great for an all around welder for the home shop. Would buy the same again in a heartbeat.

5. nickk

nickk

miller is great, but the main thing you wanna know when purchasing a welder is what kind of power sourse you have, how thick of stuff your gonna weld. Im hoping and gonna assume your wanting to get a gas mig welder. i dont know what kind of price your looking for, but out of the welders I have I like miller the best, lincoln is good to but not as good for sheet metal, and hobart makes a pretty killer welder too, the handler 140, and hobart is the sister company of miller so its good quality too.

6. Todd's Rod's

Todd's Rod's
    from MInnesota

miller good quality and great value. I have had my 250 for about 10 years. works like a charm.

7. VoodooTwin

VoodooTwin
    from Noo Yawk

I have and use a Miller 211. It's the cat's ass.

8. 23crate

23crate
    from nz

i found a lincoln 170sp a great machine a few years back -- apparently the newer 200 inverter is even better,, simplicity is great,,

9. Gerg

Gerg