Register now to get rid of these ads!

Brake questions about a 54' Bel Air

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by varnell1980, Jan 23, 2013.

1. varnell1980

varnell1980

Hello guys, im new to the classic car world and need some help. I have wrenched on Harleys and 4x4's and now have joined into the classic car realm. I have purchased a front disk brake conversion kit to install on my 54 bel air and keeping the rear drum. I have also purchased a dual master cylinder for a late 60's model truck that Im going to fabricate to fit my car back in the stock location (thanks to the wonderful thread posted about how to do it). I really dont know much about brakes and need some pointers on how to make the disk/drum brake conversion work with manual brakes. Here are my questions...Will I need to install a proportioning valve? I know after reading a thread a minute ago that I will need a residual pressure valve for the front disk, but will I also need one for the rear drum? And where do they exactly go? Are they plumbed inline before the split? If you have any answers or pointers to make my conversion go smoother due to past experience please let me know. I greatly appreciate it!

2. Gator

Gator

Where in Tennessee are you?

Here's my take on your setup...

Your plumbing goes from the master cylinder, to the distribution/proportioning valve, then to the front/rear residual valves, on to the front and rear unions, then to the calipers/wheel cylinders.

The distribution block and/or proportioning valve direct the proper amount (proportion) of fluid to the front and back. Disc brake calipers have much more volume than the wheel cylinders, so this valve helps distribute the fluid properly.

The residual pressure valves keep they system kind of pre-loads your brakes (overcoming the pressure from the brake return springs) to keep you from having excess pedal travel.