Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical BOXING/REINFORCING RODS/ BUSHING PISTONS TO FIT RODS- ANYONE DONE THIS OR RUN THEM?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mitchell Rish, Feb 18, 2021.

1. Mitchell Rish

Mitchell Rish
    from Houston MS

I remember in the MID 80'S that PAGAN and Bob MaKay did the LOW BUCK special . If I remember right the injected 354 hemi first ran BOXED stock rods. I have a Pet Engine Project that I have been working on for many years.( My nature is to use off the shelf /traded /used stuff and never sink a ton of money into a short block- I consider anything over a 650$ excessive. ( yes I've done some but it always bugged me.) I have a possible stock rod /off shelf piston combo that will work.

Here is the Question. Can I weld a pair of reinforcement ribs/ gussets around the pin end- may be kinda like a a H beam rod. . If I ream the pin end of the rod .063 ( .0315 per side so to speak)- I can use an off the shelf piston ( with a little bridgport work to the deck. ). And I am talking less than 200$ a set here for a decent piston that will live at or below 6k all day long- especially on an 1/4 mile track. I know this combo has been done with no reinforcement -( I would like do it with out buying 3 sets of stock rods to find the pin bores that are centered perfect. ( yes I am being cheap) Again other than cam the short block will be off the shelf stuff.
    Rumor has it a certain B-Ville car is running this exact set up. But they went through many sets of rods before they found a full set where the pin hole was centered.
    Next question- Would tig be the way to go/ the rod is a 5140 material from the factory if I remember right. I assume that should be done before the pin reaming etc so it could be checked ?
    I know there are aftermarket rod / piston combos that could be ordered- Kinda defeats the point to me.