Register now to get rid of these ads!

Beam for loft/hoist: Is there a legit engineer in the house?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Kevin Lee, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

Task one: Span 14' in my garage to build a loft that will be roughly 8' deep. I have access to a beam that is 6" tall, 4" wide with 1/4" thick web all around. Am I safe here? It sure LOOKS legit but I want to be sure.

Bonus bit: I actually have access to a couple of these beams so providing it is strong enough I am considering building a gantry crane with the other.

Thoughts from anyone here? Not storing engines in the loft – a rear end might be the heaviest thing it will support.

2. That will do the job.......
    no ,I'm not an engineer but I've played one on occasion....

3. Pat Pryor

Pat Pryor

what it takes an engineer 6 months to figure out it takes 2 good men 6 hours to fix.:rolleyes:

4. choppedtudor

choppedtudor

remember, what supports the beam is as important as the beam itself....steel posts buried in the walls work out best....wood posts tend to do funny things with not-so funny results.

5. 201

6. Pat Pryor

Pat Pryor

wood or steel pillers ?

we had one about the same size and length at work and we wouldnt put over 2000 pounds on it. it may of been 3/8 thick

Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  7. general gow

general gow
    Staff Member

is mr. sweet in the house?

8. flatford39

flatford39

Don't have my books here at home but I would be alot happier if it was an 8" or better yet a 10" WF Beam. Are you considereing a center post??? I have concerns about it sagging. As others have said it is very important as to how you support the ends and in this case possibly the center. When I am at work tomorrow I will check my steel books for capacity.

9. Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

I have a text in to Mr. Sweet... unanswered so far and i am impatient. :)