Register now to get rid of these ads!

Another pesky question- approx value of a '56 Chevy 235 and transmission?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by fbama73, Jun 3, 2010.

1. fbama73

fbama73

I hate to be always asking questions, but here's my situation: I have an OT project car for sale/trade, and I mentioned post '53 Chevy/GMC sixes as trade bait. I have a guy interested who has a carb to pan 6 and 3 speed tranny he's willing to part with. Supposedly, it's low mileage (aren't they all?) He sent a good enough picture to get a casting number off of the head, which ID's it as a '56 235. He says it is a truck engine, and it is painted red (looks old enough to be original paint) if that makes a difference.

If I decide I want it, I'd like to know what a fair price for it would be in figuring the trade value of it.

I've only recently become smart enough to think that anything with less than 8 cylinders can be cool, so I'm still learning. Thanks for any help!

2. 33-Chevy

33-Chevy

The original color for a 1956 truck 235 was grey. It should be worth at least $250.00 if it is all there and runs.

3. zero until i heard it run and did a compression test and checked oil psi. as well. go by scrap prices until then, $0.10 a lb.

4. HONESTHERMAN

HONESTHERMAN

Interesting that people ask the value of an item. Most people say stuff like 50.00 250.00, scrap metal price for an original engine that is 55 years old.
    The opinion of a person who wants to buy one says 100.00
    The opinion of a person who wants to sell one says 2500.00

fbama73 wrote
    If I decide I want it, I'd like to know what a fair price for it would be in figuring the trade value of it.

For this engine alone, Complete and If I needed one and it ran good. I think it is worth 1000.00
    For this engine alone, If I dont need it I would not buy it.