Register now to get rid of these ads!

Accel #8140 coil=ballast resistor or not.......

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Carnuba, Aug 6, 2012.

1. Carnuba

Carnuba
    BANNED

....with MSD electronic distributor? Thanks

2. The coil doesn't determine weather you need a resistor, the dist. does. On my MSD electronic plug and play dist. it says you do not need one, but I called the tech hotline anyway and they confirmed it. Just give them the model # of your dist. and they'll tell you. That's right from MSD. I've been running mine for a couple of months now and no trouble.

3. rustang

rustang

Usually the ballast resistor was put in place to make the points last longer in a points distributor... the lower voltage would extend the life of the points....GM used actual resistors, many Fords use a special "resistor wire".....
    Most, if not all, electronic distributors you can eliminate the resistor and supply a full 12 volts to the distributor.
    Tom

4. Morrisman

Morrisman
    from England

The ballast resistor is there to make the coil perform correctly at start up.

Your coil is usually about a 9 volt unit, and when the motor is running it has its power supply routed through the ballast resistor.

When you are cranking the starter motor the system voltage is sapped down to about 9 volts due to the load, so the ballast resistor is switched out of the circuit and you get full system voltage to the coil: about 9 volts. Perfect, you get a nice fat spark.

Thus the coil is running at 100% efficiency for starting. Once the motor is running the ballast resistor switches back into the coils power supply and away you go, coil running on normal 9 volts again.

The switch for this is usually/often part of the starter motor.