Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Aarons 29 AV8 coupe build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Aaron D., Jul 27, 2016.

  1. greaser
    Joined: Apr 30, 2006
    Posts: 782

    greaser
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Love this little coupe. Have you fired the engine yet? Would like to hear those pipes!
     
  2. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Not yet Greaser, I’m getting close though. I’m working on running wiring so I can fire the Flathead up!


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
    louisb and 48fordnut like this.
  3. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 885

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    You using a kit for the wiring?

    --louis
     
  4. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Yes, I bought the 12 circuit speedway harness. Made a mounting plate today to mount the fuse block and relays so I don't have to drill holes in the firewall to mount everything. Should be able to start running wires tomorrow.
     
    louisb likes this.
  5. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 885

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Be interested to see how you do the wiring. I am just about to order the wiring for my project.

    —louis
     
  6. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    It will be my first wiring job of a complete car. There are a few things that are going to be challenging, a couple of them are: the inertia switch and relay for the fuel pump, the original 1939 ignition switch and start button running through relays. I'll figure it out one step at a time though.
     
  7. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 885

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Yeah, I am worried about the 6v gauges. There is a nice basic wiring diagram in the Bishop book I plan to follow. Of all the stuff in building a hot rod wiring worries me the most.

    --louis
     
    Aaron D. likes this.
  8. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 8,839

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Used the same harness in my 46, I’d buy it again.

    Though it does come with enough wire to wire a 22 ft long car so keep in mind that you’ll be trimming a ton
     
    brEad and Aaron D. like this.
  9. So Cal Brian B
    Joined: Apr 3, 2017
    Posts: 83

    So Cal Brian B

    Aaron,

    Moving right along. The lights turned out nice!! I have been eying those same lights.

    Thanks as always for the informative videos!!

    Brian B
     
  10. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

  11. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Been toying with dash ideas. Imagine this with a nice classy finish on it. It’s Bubinga wood from Africa and it will have a deep red tone to it.[​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
    slv63, brEad, 48fordnut and 2 others like this.
  12. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 8,839

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    I can dig it.

    I can’t recall, did you end up having to replace any of the wood in this car?
     
  13. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 885

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    It would look nice with the right color dash. You going to use any other wood accents for the interior?

    —louis
     
  14. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Tim, all the wood was good, I didn't have to do anything with it.
     
    Tim likes this.
  15. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    I agree, the dash is in red primer right now, not a good color to go with the wood unfortunately. I haven't cut the dash yet though.
    I could run a regular 5 gauge Stewart Warner style panel and run the extra gauge I have on a little panel attached to the bottom of the dash. I don't know, i'm kinda unsettled on what to do.
     
  16. 48fordnut
    Joined: Nov 4, 2005
    Posts: 3,395

    48fordnut
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Run all gauges on the same panel. My .02.

    I have the large S/W gauges 2 5/8, and the small speedo.
     
    39 Aaron NZ likes this.
  17. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 885

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I feel you man. I went round and round on the dash for a while. I bought 4 different inserts and 3 different dashes, including a full ‘35 dash with gauges. Yes I have a problem.

    —louis
     
    brEad and 39 Aaron NZ like this.
  18. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Haha, that made me laugh. At least I'm not the only one!
     
    39 Aaron NZ likes this.
  19. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Hmmm....[​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
    slv63, brEad, Tim and 5 others like this.
  20. greaser
    Joined: Apr 30, 2006
    Posts: 782

    greaser
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I'm thinking it'll look sharp... (and different)!
     
  21. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 8,839

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Looks good to me
     
  22. 48fordnut
    Joined: Nov 4, 2005
    Posts: 3,395

    48fordnut
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Always another idea. Yours looks good.
    I think I will copy that. Probably not with good wood. .4 -2 5/8 gauges and a 3 3/8 speedo.
     
  23. Headlights look good! I like the way you work through it. Most build threads just show the end result. Your videos give a much better perspective.
     
  24. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    Thanks for the opinions guys. I think I'm going to use the wood panel, I can always go back and change it later.
    Thanks brEad.
    This wiring is kicking my butt, It's not that hard, but it takes forever when you're trying to make it look good.
    Aaron
     
    slv63, WTF really and louisb like this.
  25. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 8,839

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Yes extremely tedious
     
  26. but you'll be glad ya did it right..... bet your itchin to get er running, nice job so far!!!
     
  27. Kiwi 4d
    Joined: Sep 16, 2006
    Posts: 2,304

    Kiwi 4d
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Just did a full rewrite on my buddys A coupe and he wanted to use a push button start and the original ( well to 37 ford anyway) column toggle switch. We probably did not have to as he has no real accessories to speak of , but took the load off the toggle switch with a relay also.
    Been through 4 English cable wipers and all have a failed park system, probably dodgy when new. So will have to rely on a digital park system .
     
  28. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    I sure am, cant wait to hear that Flathead sound.
     
    WTF really likes this.
  29. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 438

    Aaron D.
    Member

    I wired up the stock 1939 starter button and toggle switch too. I used the horn relay that was incorporated into the wiring harness.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.