Register now to get rid of these ads!

55 Chevy Big Block Ideas

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by rsg2506, Nov 15, 2014.

1. rsg2506

rsg2506

Hey gang,
    My small block self destructed and I picked up a 454 (72-78 2 bolt) with 781 heads. The previous owner had it in truck and rebuilt it. 60 over, 1.7 rockers, Weiand action plus intake, Holley 750 double pumper, and a RV cam of unknown origin. I'm guessing it has around 8:1 compression. It runs good and I'd like to put it in my 55 with minimum mods to motor. The 55 is a 4spd, 12 bolt 4:11 posi. I'm not looking to race the car but I would like to spin it up over the 4500 rpm the RV cam limits it to. Would it be as simple as a cam and spring change? Would a 400 to 425hp goal be unreasonable? I'm new to the big block world and looking for some low budget ideas.

Thanks,
    Rich

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

2. txturbo

txturbo

You need to change that rear end ratio. All you are going to do with a BB and that ratio is spin the tires. A buddy in high school put a BB in his 70 Chevelle with 4:56 gears and he couldn't out run anything cuz he couldn't keep the tires from spinning.

3. Your rear end ratio is fine. It's tuning your chassis for traction instead of just spinning.

But ya, Cam and springs will wake it up. Might look into a thinner head gasket or milling the heads a bit to get compression up a little.

4. cktasto

cktasto

watching the replys here for any ideas for my 454...peanut port heads out of an RV. I dont think theres much to be done in my case but still interested to see what replys you get.

5. 327Eric

327Eric