Register now to get rid of these ads!

'53 chevy dash clock repair

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Doc22, Mar 30, 2007.

1. Doc22

Doc22

So I have this clock out of my '53 HT and I want to reapar the damn thing.

Problem is I have never tried to repair a clock before. Anyone done it before and have any tips?

2. Doc22

Doc22

Urm, that's "repair".

3. cwatson1953

cwatson1953

umm....take it apart.....and then.........................
    put it back together...

4. pasadenahotrod

pasadenahotrod
    from Texas

Quite often the only thing wrong with an old car clock is that it is filthy dirty inside. Take it to a watch shop and ask them to clean it for you. It shoudl only cost a few dollars and then you can see if it works. Is it wound by hand or electrically wound? In that era few clocks were actually electric in operation.

5. wvenfield

wvenfield

Just take it apart and very, very lightly blow it out. Put it back together and I bet it works.

6. Doc22

Doc22

Thanks alot smart ass...

It's hand wound I have the face off of it. I try cleaning what I can. otherwise the watch shop it the next stop. Thanks fellas.

7. Radio Joe

Radio Joe

You can give it a try yourself. Like Pasadenahotrod mentioned- Most are only dirty and have burned contacts. Heres a quick description of what to do on most clocks....

Take the clock apart enough to get at the gears (usually only remove the housing). First it will need cleaned- Hose it out with an electrical cleaner which is safe for plastics- Try not to get it on the face.

Now if you look, you will see a coil and a small arm with a contact on it-- the arm will most likely be touching part of the coil end. the contacts on this arm are usually burned and need to be filed (sometimes they are fused together and need to be separated). File carefully with a small file until both contacts are flat. At this point, reflush with the cleaner. If the contacts are too far gone, they will need to be replaced.