Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 51 Willys Jeep CJ3A Gasser/Altered Build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by FlynBrian, Aug 31, 2009.

1. FlynBrian

FlynBrian

Hello,
    Awesome site, thought i'd share my 51 Willys Jeep CJ3A i'm building a Gasser/Altered creation out of. My buddies & I drug it out of the dirt, behind a guys house, had to tear his fence down, to get it out, and on the trailer, can't complain, I sold what I'm not using, as it sits I have $60bones in it, needs lots of elbow grease. Good thing is, the metal there, is thick and mostly flat, so it won't be hard to patch up, since I was a USMC helicopter structural mechanic, most patching will be done buttonhead solid rivets, helicopter style lap patches. A bunch of the parts i'm going to use, I scavenged for years, and some have alot of meaning or kool storys behind them. For instance the straight axle/transverse setup came out of a friend of the familys junkyard in 1983, I was 17y/o, it was under the front of a Henry J gasser from the early 60's had Phillips 66 logo painted on the doors, out of Bristol Tenn, had a 401cu. nailhead in it, rearend was missing, drug it home from the junkyard with big plans, well year later i'm off to the Marines, well while I was in, my Pops decides to move the Henry J from under a tree, puts a strap thru the roof to pick the car up with a frontend loader, well it fell into several pieces, the car had been lightened so much, alot of the body's integrity was gone, well Pops though I was gonna flip, but I didn't, managed to salvage the frontend you see going under the 51 Jeep, saved the one piece glass nose off the Henry J donated to a buddys future project. Plan on updating the thread as the build progresses, got some kool period stuff going on the Jeep, already named it, The Bone Shaker!
    Look forward to hanging out here and talking hotrods & gaining knowledge and learning.
    Brian

Got a few pics of mocking it up:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]