Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 51 Henry J (another Southeast Gasser) Build "Atomic Wedgie"

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by sidsgarage, Jan 22, 2016.

1. sidsgarage

sidsgarage

Good morning all,
    I've been on this site for a while but this is my first build thread.
    This will be my 1951 Henry J that I hope to run with the Southeast Gassers when it's done.
    I've been to a few races and got a chance to meet some of the guys and I'm looking forward to running with them.
    So far Quain, Tony, and Gabe have answered all my crazy questions and helped me a lot.
    Plan A: (Subject to change due to budget, these are the parts I already have)
    1951 Henry.
    Tilt front end using original steel parts.
    8 3/4 rear
    440 Mopar
    Ford Top Loader
    I Beam front axle

Ideas, advice, and free parts gladly accepted! IMG_2585.JPG IMG_2586.JPG IMG_2587.JPG IMG_2588.JPG

Piedmont, swade41, elgringo71 and 2 others like this.
  2. The tall deck wedge may be a tight fit in the J. Not that it can't be done. I totally understand working with what you have so do what you do with it, but you may be a lot happier with a stroked 400" low deck.

On the B/RB make sure you keep your quench tight and get plenty of squish in the combustion chambers, if you don't have them try and find a pair of closed chamber heads. The lazy open chamber heads will work if that is what you have to work with but the mill will breath better with closed combustion chambers. On either head you can increase your exhaust velocity by up to 30% by radiusing the leading edge of the valve even if you stay with stock exhaust valves. Increased velocity = increased flow.

I am not familiar with their rules but most sanctioning bodies outlaw any MOPAR that displaces 426" so you may want to be careful with your displacement or watch the rule book very closely. That falls under the "if you can't beat 'em outlaw 'em" rule. LOL

Have fun with it. ;)