Register now to get rid of these ads!

350 turbo freewheeling in second

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by chrisntx, Mar 22, 2006.

1. chrisntx

chrisntx
    from Texas .

On another thread I asked Shifts about my 350 turbo transmission 'freewheeling' in second and he suggested that I check the servo or 2-3 accumulator. I have been working on old Fords for 40 years and I think I can fix anything:D But I dont do automatic transmissions. Is the servo/2-3 accumulator something that can be checked and repaired without getting serious and taking the transmission out of the car?

2. I'm going to say yes without looking at my books. The servo is external (IIRC), the accumulator accessible after pan removal.

Seriously, get the TH350 book from HP Books, and learn. The TH350 (and indeed moreso the TH400) are two of the easiest automatics to rebuild/build. And you can orient them to more horsepower without buying any "kits", just by some changes on reassembly.

I've never gotten any formal training on transmissions, yet I've rebuilt quite a few 350/400 and C4s without any troubles from any of them. One of them even lasted two seasons behind an 11 second big block, and it was a trans I built for street use!! My buddy bought it from me after I built it, and just put it in the car. It wasn't dead, either, he just wanted more.

Cosmo

3. muffman58

muffman58