Register now to get rid of these ads!

1962 caddy help!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by kevo, Feb 5, 2009.

1. kevo

kevo
    from Keller, TX

aight, I'm a newb on here but I need ya'lls help!! I have an electrical gremlin in the car somewhere and I can NOT find it!! I've traced it from the battery, to the alt, to the starter, and I'm not getting power past there.... no lights, doors, windows, NOTHING!! any suggestions are GREATLY apprectiated!!

2. I had the same problem on my Newport.:mad: I found a bad connection going to my main relay/solenoid on the firewall. That damn wire caused me so much stress, I know where you are coming from. Good luck with it!:cool:

3. Jobe

Jobe
    from Austin, Tx

Check your main hot wire connection to the back of the fuse box. Also check the main firewall wire block for connections and corrosion. I just had a 62 fleetwood that had a fried connector back there that caused those same symptoms. I've learned alot about my 62 over the past 5 years...PM me if you need more help.

4. Do you have one of those 12V test lights with the probe? Just follow it from where you do have power downstream, attach the ground clip and start probing wires until it goes dead.

Bob

5. Caddy-O

Caddy-O

What Bob said, and you might take a look at your headlight switch. I had the same problem a while back and traced it back to the switch.

6. czuch

czuch
    from vail az

Yea what Caddy-O and Bob said.
    Perhaps did some previous caretaker put a fuseable link in it? I had that problem with a pickup once.

7. kevo

kevo
    from Keller, TX

what was wrong with it? how did you find out that was the problem?

8. Caddy-O

Caddy-O

Don't know exactly what the problem was in the light switch other than it was faulty.

All the external lights and those in the instrument cluster would flutter and then turn off completely and would not come back on.