Register now to get rid of these ads!

1930 chrsyler question?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dynahoe, Oct 11, 2012.

1. dynahoe

dynahoe

looking into buying a 30 3 window coupe.i'm a novice,and very uninformed.that being said.how much of this car is wood,frame pieces and roof bows.looks like 'a' pillars are wood but how much else.thank you for any info

2. F&J

F&J

It's all wood. A & B pillars, sills, the whole thing, including doors and decklid, all framed in wood.

There are quite a few different Chrysler models in those years, from chevy size to full size classics.

If it still has the engine, look at the first part of the stamped number, driver front, right below headgasket. Also look for a serial number, might be on rt door hingle pillar (A pillar). Somone will look it up.

3. dynahoe

dynahoe

pic shows body number 361 1890. looks and sounds like a lot to replace wood frame.but i own a forest so wood is free

4. Here's a 66 and a 77 (respectively):
    [​IMG][​IMG]

Gorgeous cars- best of luck!

5. ezdusit

ezdusit

I don't know for sure about 1930, but by 1932, Chrysler had farmed out all closed car production to the Briggs Body Co., which had transitioned to all-steel construction. The open cars, such as the roadsters, were being built in the old Maxwell Body Works, which still built bodies in the tradition of the carriage builders. My '32 Model PB Plymouth roadster has lots of wood framing --
    [​IMG][/IMG]

6. bgbdlinc

bgbdlinc