Register now to get rid of these ads!

1. Has anyone ever used a Fiero clip?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Elrusto, Dec 6, 2003.

1. Elrusto

Elrusto

Ok, I know its not traditional but neither is a MII.
    A Fiero front end was given to me the other day and it looks like it might be pretty easy to put in my 47' Fleet line. Its 33" wide outside to outside (frame) and 6-7" deep from the bottom of the frame to bottom of the cross member.
    Best of it unbolts from the donor car rack and all.

2. brewsir

brewsir

seems to me a rear engine car thats really small and lightweight may not be the best choice for a front engine heavy car like yours.....I'm no expert!

3. Elrusto

Elrusto

The suspension parts are pretty heavy-duty lookin'.
    As far as the springs go, Id pitch them and use bags anyway.

4. A guy I know used one. It was easy enough, but it has an odd bolt pattern(he's still running the ugly fiero wheels).
    Whats the track width? Thats the most important issue. The other thing I'd be concerned with is parts availability. The Fiero was a real POS and is getting hard to find.

5. Scott B

Scott B
    from Colorado?

They carry about 1600 pounds on the front end - stock...

Fleetlines, not Fieros.

6. fab32

fab32
    Member Emeritus

I understand they work better than the alternatives when you are restoring a Fiero.

Frank

7. Tuck

Tuck
    Tech Editor
    from MINNESOTA
    1. Early Hemi Tech

those front ends should RULE for streetrodders... they work really well with a full fendered A sedan. I have a friend who uses one. The rack attached and all go with as one unit for $75 or so at your local junk yard, disk brakes etc...

tuck

8. In an effort to save costs,the first generation Fiero used Chevette front suspension.That is why they didn't handle as well as some people expected.I don't know how much was changed for the second generation.
    I'd rather use the rear suspension,with a V8. [​IMG]