Register now to get rid of these ads!

Edelbrock SB Intake Manifold Install

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 64impala, Jan 16, 2013.

1. 64impala

64impala

Make: Chevrolet
    Model: Impala SS
    Year: 1964
    Engine: 327 cui

This is my first attempt at swapping out a intake manifold and I need a little direction.

Problem: Old Edelbrock intake (12 years) cracked.

Project:
    Attempting to replace intake manifold with new Edelbrock intake manifold model 27013.

OLD INTAKE:
    -When removing the old intake, the first thing I noticed was that the old intake has 6 water passages (the new intake has 4).
    -The previous owner, for whatever reason, blocked the 2 end passages (near firewall) with some sort of cement filler within the intake itself.
    Someone advised me that my heads were "camel hump", is there a difference between a "stock" intake and "camel hump" as far as the number of water passages (6 versus 4).
    -The previous owner also did NOT remove the gasket center holes for the
    middle 2 water passages, thus it appears the old intake was only circulating coolant via 2 passages (back 2 blocked, middle 2 gasket blocked).

NEW INTAKE:
    In comparing the old intake with the new, the new one has 4 coolant passages (the back 2 were machined closed by Edelbrock), I'm guessing that was either for performance improvement or stock versus camel hump head configuration.
    Also, Edelbrock included 4 thin metal plates with the new intake, how are those used and do I need to use them?
    So, is it okay to go forward with new intake install after clean-up of heads/ports and suggested configuration?

Note: See attached pics of intakes, gaskets, heads, engine, etc.

Attached Files:

2. dblgun

dblgun