Register now to get rid of these ads!

Paint/body Gurus I have a bare metal question!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jkustom, Jun 23, 2011.

1. Jkustom

Jkustom
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

So I have a buddy, he's a painter, and a pretty good one.. He heard from a couple guys in the industry that REALLY REALLY talk down about leaving a car, or any part for that matter in bare metal for any time at all. Not even running the car bare, but building it and keeping it bare while under construction. He says it causes adhesion problems with the paint or something?? Can anyone elaborate on this for me?

I figure with so many immensely talented builders, who clearly know what they are doing, building cars that stay bare metal all the way until the end, that it can't be THAT big of a deal?? This guy is talking like it's a serious sin, and I'd like more of a perspective.. Thanks fellas!

2. Crankhole

Crankhole

I'm no expert but I don't think the metal cares how long it's been bare as long as it's prepped before paint. Look at all these rusty cars that have been that way for years and then prepped and painted.

3. fleet-master

fleet-master

its better to let the metal sit bare than let it sit in primer for too long. Primer CAN absorb moisture and result in paint failure down the track.
    At least if the metal is bare you can see whats happening to it. I have kept my 57 Chev in bare metal for quite a few years (too many!! :eek:) and just wipe it over with a rust inhibitor from time to time.
    I'll just run over it with a DA sander or such...prime it..and paint it.
    Ultimately only paint will seal and protect the surface ,but leaving it in bare metal is no problem and I been doin this for 20+ years.
    thats my .02 PB

4. robertsregal

robertsregal