Register now to get rid of these ads!

Radiator Design - thermal expansion issues

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CharlieLed, Feb 4, 2011.

1. CharlieLed

CharlieLed

About a year ago I bought a custom made aluminum radiator. It is a crossflow design with plates welded at the top and bottom of the core which makes the radiator "shell" look like it is all one piece. The manufacturer now tells me that they blew it on this design and that the thermal expansion characteristics of the core do not match those of the shell that surround the core...they say that the core will fail prematurely due to this design defect. I hold a degree in engineering so I understand the concept but I have little experience with how it relates to radiators. Does anyone have firsthand experience with radiator design...if the two tanks are tied together will it cause a problem?

Attached Files:

2. unkledaddy

unkledaddy

Gee, that's a purty radiator.

If it's only a year old and the manufacturer admits to blowing it on your design,
    then I would ask for a replacement.

3. CharlieLed

CharlieLed

Yes, this IS a very purty radiator and the manufacturer has offered to retrofit it for me but their fix will take all the purty right out of it. They want to cut out the top and bottom cross members and remount them to a sliding nut plate that is welded to the ends of the tanks. Now instead of seeing a nice smooth top edge the top will be in three pieces with the center trim section screwed to the new mounting plates. The manufacturer has changed ownership recently and they are trying to fix what the PO had supposedly screwed up.
    Here's a pic of the radiator mounted in the new core support I built for my 56 F100...

Attached Files:

4. 1Bad67

1Bad67

Well it certainly makes sence that there would be a problem. The core is gonna get hotter than the end caps, and Aluminum expands a lot. Can't the top cap be made long enough to cover the core and both tanks?