Register now to get rid of these ads!

Motion Pictures In A Nut Shell...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ryan, Nov 12, 2010.

1. Theo Douglas

Theo Douglas

Sour f---in' grapes!

I'm a former newspaper editor so I can say this with a tiny little bit of authority: Being in print sucks right now, and I should know. The joint I wrote for went out of business, in part because of the Internet, and there really aren't a lot of jobs.

But I still hate whiners. If everybody in print would just shut the hell up and do their jobs, a lot of things would improve right off the bat. There's a lot of dysfunction out there, and bitching about it doesn't make it better.

And you know what? I bet "Janet" works for some place that already has a website--so there you go. She needs to stop complaining and make her website a better place, 'cause I have yet to find a print car magazine with a website that's remotely useful or fun.

(Oh, and shave, 'cause a woman with a beard belongs in a sideshow.)

The HAMB, on the other hand, rules--and I like being able to speak my mind (mostly).

Jeez--what the hell's wrong with people.

Theo

2. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

Well, Hot Rod and R&C were the tools that spread rodding from a tiny cult in the '40's to a nationwide phenomenon by 1952...but sometime, probably before Janet's day there, they ceased to be technical hot rodding publications supported by advertisers deeply involved in their communities and became advertising media for mail order suppliers supported by an occasional flicker of useful tech...

and..."When is the last time a magazine editor rushed out to help a reader broken down on the side of the road?..." Hey, when was the last time there was an editor who would have been USEFUL with a wrench at the roadside?? Or a reader whose breakdown did not involve a fully dealer-supported SUV pulling an enclosed trailer containing his "hotrod"?
    Holy cow.