Register now to get rid of these ads!

HEMI Tech - Rebuilds

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by scootermcrad, Apr 23, 2009.

1. scootermcrad

scootermcrad
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Okay! Here it is! The thread so many of you have asked me about!

Since there are a lot of people that are in process of building or about to build an early Hemi, I thought it would be nice to have a resource where you guys can throw your builds up here. Show us your rebuild process and share your recipes for the builds and why you did this or that.

I don't know about you guys, but sometimes I need a little hand-holding when I move into new territory. I've received a ton of help from a lot of people here and I'm still learning myself. I have a build brewing right now and it won't be documented as well as I would like it to be, but I will share my rookie build when it's all done.

I know this thread will go sloooooow, but I think it's a good one and should help a few people just getting into this stuff.

Post your links, pictures, process, specs, recipes, etc.. Time to show off!

Thanks guys!

2. BigBlockMopar

BigBlockMopar

Some 2.5 years ago I bought my first 392 Hemi.
    I made a 250 mile roundtrip in the '62 wagon to pick up the expensive lump of greasy steel.
    I knew the engine was a runner before it spun a bearing so I had some hopes of bringing it back to life rather easy.
    Upon arrival I started disassembly and found more and more stuff I didn't want to see.
    The entire inside of the engine and parts was totally covered with a rubberlike greasy coating.
    Not the kind that would dissolve with some degreaser, thinner, ovencleaner or brakecleaner. Tried them all, to no avail. No, this was the good stuff allright.
    I had to get the engine block lyed to get most of the gunk out. After the cleaning I had the block bored .020" and bought a set of cast pistons and rings from Egge.