Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Interview with Ger Peters (Dutch Courage)

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Acme Speed Shop, Dec 8, 2009.

1. Acme Speed Shop

Acme Speed Shop
    from so cal

This is the first in a series of interviews we are doing with the contributing artists at ACME Speed Shop. We hope you enjoy.

Interview with Ger Peters of Dutch Courage

1. How long have you been doing art?

I have always loved to draw. I remember as a kid, with crayons, drawing animals on the wallpaper, much to the dismay of my mom and dad. I had a fair amount of talent and in school; I was always referred to as "the boy that draws so well".
    I've been doing art professionally for eight years, the first five years working a job as a technical illustrator and the last three years as a freelance graphic designer and illustrator.

2. How did you first get started?

From the kid's drawings, there's just a seamless progression to the art and illustration work I'm doing now.
    Besides being good at drawing, I was a pretty good student in school as well. As I had never really thought of making a career out of my drawing talent, I went to Business School instead of Art School. I trained to be a sales- and marketing manager. When I was in Business School, I was asked to go to work for the school paper doing layout and illustration which I did.