Register now to get rid of these ads!

seat belts in your hot rod

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by J Man, Nov 11, 2008.

?

Do you have seat belts in your old car?

Poll closed Jan 10, 2009.
  1. Yes

230 vote(s)
    65.2%
  2. No

40 vote(s)
    11.3%
  3. Some of them

23 vote(s)
    6.5%
  4. I will but have not yet

55 vote(s)
    15.6%
  5. They were there when I bought the car

5 vote(s)
    1.4%
  1. J Man

J Man
    from Angola, IN

OK, I have never done a poll before so hopefully I will set it up right. Basically what I want to know is, do you have seat belts in your old car? Also please do not turn this into a safety rant on why to have seat belts. Thanks

2. temper_mental

temper_mental
    from Texas

3. terrarodder

terrarodder
    from EASTERN PA

4. CJ Steak

CJ Steak
    from Texas

None in the Willys pickup.
    None in the '58 Studey Commander H/T.

I don't plan on adding any to those vehicles. If I ever build a gasser shoebox, i'm going with an aviation style seat belt (ala J-3 Cub) with leather and a nice quick release.

5. Shaggy

Shaggy
    from Sultan, WA

Didnt need 'em stock, dont need 'em now,

Besides, extra weight, it'd slow me down!

6. Bull

Bull

Absolutely, yes! I firmly believe they saved my life, though only lap belts. When I rebuild the car (or buy/build another) it will get 3-point belts.
    [​IMG]

7. hotrodladycrusr

hotrodladycrusr

Of course.
    I'm actually on my second set in 88,000 miles. The sun rots material and I felt they needed to be replaced not only cuz new ones would look nicer but because I thought after so many sun miles they should be replaced for safety sake.

8. LongT

LongT

Yes, I have and use lap belts in my T bucket. Even if they don't help in a crash they help to keep me behind the wheel.

Bill

9. yeah why not...ya dont always gotta use them....I never did in my tall t something about all the wood and not steel around me......then again why make the EMTs search for your body?