Register now to get rid of these ads!

My 110welding?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mink, Jun 17, 2008.

1. kustombypook

kustombypook

On a frame, yes!

2. mink

mink
    from CT

[​IMG]
    do my welds looks any better? still practicing. This is my first time welding continuously.
    trying to get those dimes. I am hereing those contiuous welding sounds that we want to here according to tech sites. As i welded i rocked the welder in the motion of c's as i pulled the gun across. what motions should i use

I plan on removing the angle iron and tacking in 2x5 3/16 walled sq. tubing and having someone touching it all up

3. Al Napier

Al Napier
    from Central CT

Mink, I got your VM and left one back for you. I can be around this weekend if need be (Sat/Sunday, I'll be away at Englishtown on Friday) to take a look in person and offer any advice; I live probably less than 10-15 minutes from you in East Berlin on the Middletown line.

If you can get your hands on some 3/16 plate maybe we can get it fixed up for you this weekend or next week sometime. There is a welding & steel place in New Britain across from the old Papa's Dodge that should have some plate in stock, they can even shear it to size and save us some labor. A straight shot down RT 9 for you.

Regardless, give me a shout back and we'll make arrangements for a looksie. Depending on your welder and what I see we might have to drag your frame over to my house. My stuff is old (Miller 35 MIG and Miller EconoTwin TIG units) but work well. Might be a good chance for you to learn and practice some MIG welding on a 220v machine........

Al in CT

4. mink

mink
    from CT

Thanks Al . quite sure i have the right steel but should i go to logan steel and pick up that square tubing?

just butwelded this metal on only one side and tested it in a vise. the metal will keep bending with out the weld braking .
    [​IMG]

5. 38plymouth

38plymouth