Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Old Signs

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ryan, Jan 3, 2008.

1. Vintage Roadside

Vintage Roadside

2. Vance

Vance
    from N/A

Here are two that I've grown to like.

[​IMG]

What Chevy guy wouldn't want to get their hands on THAT sign?

[​IMG]

The Lazy 8 at a drive-in...

Vance

3. KustomLincolnLady

KustomLincolnLady

Very cool post, I will have to dig around I have a few someplace

4. giddyup-go

giddyup-go

I'm an electrician/sign installer in the Chicago area and the sad thing is most of these cool ass old signs are not maintained and they turn into hugh piles of junk, full of pigeon shit. it's too bad .........nobody makes this stuff anymore.

5. Ramblur

Ramblur

One of these in Salem,OH. too. Hell, I think its still there.:)

6. KING CHASSIS

KING CHASSIS

Here are a few we have made at work. All new signs but made to look similar to old ones.[​IMG]

7. KING CHASSIS

KING CHASSIS

8. KING CHASSIS

KING CHASSIS

9. KING CHASSIS

KING CHASSIS

Newest one. The main part of this one was done out of house , due to another large project going on at the sametime. I realy like this. Wish I could put my name on it. But I personaly cant.
    [​IMG]

10. KING CHASSIS

KING CHASSIS

I went to San Fransisco in November and seen these signs. Thought they were cool.[​IMG]

11. KING CHASSIS

KING CHASSIS

12. mcload

mcload

The best neon sign I ever saw (outside of Las Vegas) was a huge red eagle at the Anhauser-Busch plant here in Houston during the 70's. The wings flapped up and down via series of neons. This thing was HUGE, and you could see it in the darkness 10 miles away....it was even more strange in the fog! But its gone now, obviously too expensive to maintain. I know some of yall in Houston know which one I'm talking about.
    Here is a movie of what it once looked like:

http://images.google.com/imgres?img...um=10&um=1&hl=en&rls=com.microsoft:en-US&sa=G

Patrick