Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Why are customs dying?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Roothawg, Jun 8, 2021.

1. Roothawg

Roothawg

Headed to CCR this weekend and there will be 200 of the nicest customs around. The problem is that I am not sure there are too many more out there.

Some of the custom guys were talking on another thread about it being a dying art. Why is that?

In this day and age there are more super fabricators than ever before. Is it the cost deterring the younger guys? I am a newbie to customs and I am 53.

I am trying to hang with the older guys because they seem to be the carriers of the torch, so to speak.

I will say that I have a new appreciation for the skill and labor involved. I could build 3 hot rods in the time that I can build my 55 Ford.

2. arkiehotrods

arkiehotrods

Part of it is lack of coverage. Part of it is that it takes, as you alluded to, skill and labor that is different from building hot rods. Part of it is people (civilians and car guys alike) don't see the difference between billet-laden "resto-mods" (whatever the heck that means) and a true custom.
    When you get to Indy, sit down and talk with Mick Bryan. He has thought about this a lot and discussed it with a whole lot of people. He has some good insight into this very subject.
    I also think about how customs (kustoms) were pretty much dead when KKOA came along in '80.
    https://kustomkempsofamerica.com/history.htm

Have fun. Wish I was going.

3. Jeff Norwell

Jeff Norwell
    Staff Member

Super expensive to build(3X the cost of a Hot Rod)... as Arkie stated.. lack of parts.... lack of skills.. and you need restore one first before you can customize......
    But I love proper traditional ones.

4. trevorsworth

trevorsworth
    ALLIANCE MEMBER