Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Heat crossover in iron intake

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Fabulous50's, Apr 20, 2021.

1. Fabulous50's

Fabulous50's
    from Maine

What is the consensus about heat crossovers? I removed the butterfly on the passenger side manifold, and now that I have the engine out, is it worth filling in the crossover ports? Or will this result in a cold blooded engine?

The idea of exhaust moving through my intake and heating things up just seems wrong......

This is obviously a summer car and the coldest air it will ever see will be 25F I'd suspect. 16189635323832090594340196048868.jpg

2. oldiron 440

oldiron 440

I have been plugging crossovers for 35 years, it's automatic with me. Plug it and don't even give a thought. It's just that more heat that will not boil the fuel.

3. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ
    from NJ

>>>I removed the butterfly on the passenger side manifold>>>

I'm with you. That's all I did cuz it didn't move anymore and the spring was shot. I don't like the x-over either. But mainly because it discolors the intake especially if painted. But I didn't block it except on my flathead. 8^) Jack E/NJ

Fabulous50's likes this.
  4. jaracer

jaracer

If you do this on an older Chrysler product, 318, 360, 440, you need to change to an electric or manual choke. On these engines the choke stove is in the intake manifold and without the crossover and the damper valve, the choke will never come off.

I still have a damper and open crossover on the 312 in my T-Bird even though the carb now has an electric choke. Old Fords are pretty cold blooded without it.

klleetrucking likes this.

5. lippy

lippy
    from Ks

I use to wad aluminum foil up and jam it tight into the crossover ports in the heads on irrigation engines. They were on natural gas. 413 chryslers. Lippy

6. oldiron 440

oldiron 440