Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Rust on a hood seam

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dmoz, Nov 2, 2020.

1. dmoz

dmoz
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Texas

I am needing advise from the more experienced members here that have dealt with restoring body parts with Rust.
    I have a 1950 ford hood that has a crack and what appears to be "crumbly rust" on the outer seam. Pics attached showing area on hood highlighted. How would you address this? I have limited tools and experience with this but am open to any suggestions.

Thanks in advance for any and all feedback
    20201102_102727.jpg 20201102_102742.jpg 20201102_102753.jpg 20201102_103516.jpg 20201102_103601.jpg

2. Bandit Billy

Bandit Billy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

You could have it blasted by someone that knows what they are doing and see what is left or save the $100 bucks it would cast and put it toward a better hood. There was one for sale a year ago on our classifieds for $100 but it is sold now.

3. 37 caddy

37 caddy
    from PEI Canada

Best bet is to find another hood,that area is hard to fix,not impossible but a PITA.By the time that is cleaned up it will be a lot bigger,and more work,maybe show it to a body man and see what he says.Harvey

4. Since you have limited tools and experience, best bet is another hood. It can be salvaged by cutting out the rust and welding in new metal, but as previous- a PITA.

5. gene-koning

gene-koning

It would be a great piece to practice on. The odds are you will end up buying a different hood, so you really don't have anything to loose.