Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Overhead gantry - Thoughts on using wood

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ziggster, Nov 25, 2019.

1. SilverJimmy

SilverJimmy

image.jpg
    Saw these at SEMA, not cheap, but very well made!

Ziggster likes this.
  2. slack

slack

I was a union carpenter for 20 years which doesn't mean I "know it all".
    What I think you are talking about is what we called an engineered beam and would easily pull an engine at only 8 feet long. The steel that is sandwiched between two 2x6's is called a flitch plate (sounds made up, don't it?). They are fine and well as long as you account for deflection. You, of course, will get some vertical deflection under load but it's the lateral deflection that is dangerous. The beam has to be braced from the sides to prevent this. A good example is in swade41's post. That being said, by the time you buy material (Just FYI, I use liquid nails on all the interior surfaces AFTER drilling) and assemble it, I believe you would be money and time ahead to invest in an "A" frame that you can break down and store it when not in use. Just my two cents (not actual value). :rolleyes:

clem, alanp561 and ekimneirbo like this.
  3. ekimneirbo

ekimneirbo