Register now to get rid of these ads!

History BW Overdrive: Five Gears for the Price of Three!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jive-Bomber, Sep 3, 2019.

1. Cosmo49

Cosmo49

upload_2019-9-17_11-54-48.jpeg

This is the way I have been running two different overdrives for over 20 years on a dd/only vehicle now at 114 k miles in this form. I have a push/pull switch mounted conveniently on the dash using the 'T' throttle knob and position, to those of you that are familiar with Advance Design Chevrolet trucks. I am three on the tree and I have modified my home-bent shifting rods to accept heim joints for smooth shifting. Further modification was done to the shifters in the engine compartment, I shortened them and I used the shortest transmission shifter arms to achieve smaller radii. By doing this my shifting is precise, short and crisp.

The first OD I had was a Muncie 319 with the non-synchro 1st gear. The OD I am using presently is the Saginaw version, 1969 vintage with all synchro gears.

I drive a '49 Chevrolet half ton with a '56 235, Edelbrock intake with two X two Carter-Webers, Fentons, X-pipe, 2- 22" cherry bombs (that I doubt have any damping materiel remaining after 20 years).

I recently achieved 17.8 mpg on a random tankful of fuel on a 1200 mile round trip. I find that I enjoy driving at 72 mph as the vibration/harmonics seem to be in a great 'sweet spot'.