Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs The Mild Custom Transformation, mama's 55

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Roothawg, Aug 23, 2018.

1. Roothawg

Roothawg

So a few years ago, we bought a car for the wife. It was a nice restored Texas car. Never had a floor pan replaced or any rust to speak of. Just a good solid car to start with. I have been accumulating parts to make this car more of a daily driver for the wife. It's going to be our "road car". It rides SO much better than my old, hot, loud hot rods.

So, this is my first attempt at a custom, so I am going to post my progress as I go along. I'll have a few things I have to omit for things that are considered OT. I also have a thread going in the 52-59 Ford social board that covers a little more. The car is kind "old manish", which stands to reason, since I bought it from a 70 year old preacher in TX. It was dubbed "Double Nickle". He has kind of a dice theme going on. I will be trying to undo some of that. It's not a lot...but it is sort of cheesy.

I am going to try and refrain from shaving, decking and nosing the car at this stage. The paint is still good. That is unless, I can lay out some scallops to hide the work?

I will be asking a lot of dumb questions to the custom gurus, so get ready. It's a blank slate.

The victim:
    55.jpg

2. Roothawg

Roothawg

3. Stance, different caps, and a Continental kit delete would make a world of difference. Do that, then stand back and plot the next move.

4. Roothawg

Roothawg

I have the aerostar springs, a set of 2" blocks already bought. I sourced a set of Granda spindles etc, so I will do it all at the same time.

I search the net daily for that ever elusive set of cheap, but cool caps to replace these.

5. Casey Riley

Casey Riley
    from Minnesota

I would absolutely KEEP the continental pakage.

6. flatheadpete

flatheadpete
    from Burton, MI

Make it safe, lower it, drive. Good lookin' car to start with!