Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects No spark from coil, no start

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mister E., May 4, 2018.

1. Mister E.

Mister E.
    from USA

1. Hello, newb here. I'm working on a 1958 apache that has sat for a few years and it is getting the dreaded no spark out coil routine!

Have changed the coil twice with same results. Also the ballast resistor was split in 2 so replaced it. Still no difference.
      I am new to working on these beautiful trucks, but have always wanted one since I was a kid. So part of My dream has come true lol.
      Anyway, its a straight six, starter button on the floor, with ignition/ key switch on dash. Manual transmission, looks to be a 1 ton chassis with heavy spring setup in rear.
      So here is My question, how do I get spark from coil? I know I need new battery terminals and cables since the originals are severely corroded and I'm sure there is a lot that I will probably have to do. But I would really love to get the ol girl up and running asap.
      Any help is much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Attached Files:

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. Do you have power at the coil from the ignition switch?

Is your distributor still points? Is it working right

Did you replace the coil with one that needs a resistor ?

What is your battery voltage and cranking speed?

A few more things to check before you start up the parts cannon

Not much in the way of wiring on these trucks but you need good ground and wiring from the battery etc. For the system to work

Mister E. likes this.
  3. Mister E.

Mister E.
    from USA

We checked the coil from battery with a jumper and it would receive power but not send power to the other side. (Where the coil wire it self goes to the distributor. Nor sure about ignition switch it self but when put a rest light on it there is juice getting to it and from it on other side.