Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Auto-Darkening helmet resolution and lag?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Shakedown St., Jan 19, 2018.

1. Shakedown St.

Shakedown St.
    from Boston, MA

I've been using a conventional welding helmet for around five years, I don't know if I would like starring at an LCD.

My concerns are low resolution and refresh rate as far as lag, has anyone ran into that problem? Is it just the filters themselves that are LCD, or the entire optics?

Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
    Blue One and chryslerfan55 like this.
  2. Step up and buy a good one, not a cheap single function unit. The good ones will offer adjustable lens shades and reaction times. I'll never go back....

3. ronzmtrwrx

ronzmtrwrx

What Crazy Steve said. I have a 3M Speedglass and it reacts fast enough for tig welding and has adjustable shade as well. I have a cheaper helmet that’s ok on mig, but has too much delay for tig. I know that doesn’t sound right, but that’s my experience with it. I’m sure there are other brands besides the 3M that work well also. Your eyes deserve the extra expense.

Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.

bantam likes this.
  4. I don't notice much difference.
    It's not an LCD display like your thinking.
    As far as lag goes, I hear about but have never experienced it with any auto dark hood I've ever used. There is some minor difference in tint colors though.

5. Larryboy?

Larryboy?
    from Isleton,CA

They're not cheap, but the very best in the business is the Jackson True Sight with Balder Technology. I switched last year from a Jackson Boss which was very good, but the True Sight takes it to another level of clarity.

Shakedown St. likes this.
  6. saltflats

saltflats
    from Missouri

I have a speedglass also and love it.
    Just wish my eyes were not so old.

7. greybeard360

greybeard360