Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Shade tree Model A speedster kind of thing

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by rwrj, Nov 21, 2017.

1. rwrj

rwrj
    from SW Ga

This won't be a build thread to start with, because I've already done a lot. Kind of a catch up that might turn into a build thread. I am new to hot-rodding, but not new to messing with cars and building stuff. Got bit by this site, and wanted to try it out on the cheap, so I decided to try to build a speedster. Not a faithful reproduction, just something to bomb around in. I bought this old 28 Model A chassis and drug it home.
    IMAG0867.jpg

Dannerr, shark81, Midnight340 and 7 others like this.
  2. spurgeonforge

spurgeonforge

Looking forward to this!

3. rwrj

rwrj
    from SW Ga

First thing was getting it running. Changed all of the fluids, pulled the plugs and freed up a couple of stuck valves, blew the dead roaches out of the distributor, that kind of thing. Piddled around with it a bit more and got it to fire and sputter along. Checked and found water in my new oil. Time for a new head gasket. I was real pleased with the look of the cylinders. IMAG0871.jpg

4. What are you going to do for a body.

5. fiftyv8

fiftyv8
    from CO & WA

Great project, I hope all goes well and stays in budget.
    My comment to would be, probably the biggest improvement you can make to a Model A, especially something that is going to be light weight, is to upgrade your tranny.
    While you are in the mode that I see, if you consider my comment it would be a good time to really workout a better choice.
    Searches will show you a few things other guys have done from an old Volvo style 4 speed to newer 4 and 5 speed versions. Some can be made to match the torque tube while others will require a open drive shaft which ain't that hard as kits are available.
    It will just go so much better and you will enjoy driving it even more.

sko_ford and ffej like this.
  6. rwrj

rwrj