Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Old Time Coil Spring Air Bags?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by leon bee, Mar 15, 2017.

1. leon bee

leon bee

I just signed up in that other part, here's my first question: I have a 53 Buick Roadmaster pickup truck. She's gonna be a little low in the rear when I put something back there to haul. Decades ago, I had some air bags: thick black rubber with a valve stem came out the side. Worked good.

I've googled all around. I see air bags- they all look like they have an air fitting right in the middle of one end, can't see how that would work for me. Would air shocks be a good place to look? This car had those old knee action shocks which I lost years ago and kinda scabbed in some tube shocks. (Times was hard back then, no money or tools). Anyone have any advice I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

2. mr.chevrolet

mr.chevrolet

you better post some pics of that!

3. 302GMC

302GMC
    from Idaho

Try "Air-Lift" brand when you search - they were the maker of the good ones.

gimpyshotrods and loudbang like this.
  4. BJR

BJR

Love to see pictures of your Roadmaster pickup!

5. leon bee

leon bee

A little shy because I've already posted pics on a couple other forums. And she ain't too good looking yet:

Attached Files:

• 027.JPG
      027.JPG
      File size:
      283.6 KB
      Views:
  6. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

dare to be different

7. leon bee

leon bee

It would look better with those rear doors filled in. But they open, and that's where you put your stuff down under the bed: toolbox, guitar, jugs of water, etc. You can reach back from the front and lock em.

I been doing more air bag googling, haven't figgered anything out yet.

8. lodaddyo

lodaddyo

Neat pickup. What about these? They go inside the coil spring.
    image.jpeg

9. leon bee

leon bee