Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 327 : Large vs Small Journal

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Wyld Deuce, Feb 18, 2017.

1. Wyld Deuce

Wyld Deuce
    from ...

Aside from the obvious......
    What is the difference between the large and small journal engines?
    Is one better than the other? (performance, parts, size .....)

1Nimrod, Deuces and henryj1951 like this.
  2. henryj1951

henryj1951
    from USA

.....got busy had to answer the call BRB
    friction ,
    reciprocating weight ,
    lot of variances to rpms and intended use
    dang phone brb

Last edited: Feb 18, 2017
    Darryl Deir likes this.
  3. Kan Kustom

Kan Kustom

Calling Squirrel........ He knows these things.

Deuces and henryj1951 like this.
  4. From what little I have heard the small journal is supposedly the strongest & the heaviest,but I am no expert - The guys I thank are as knowledgeable as any is Squirrel & Beano. HRP

Deuces and henryj1951 like this.

5. henryj1951

henryj1951
    from USA

HRP is correct on the stronger crank , small journal also decreases the surface speed of the bearing and it a has a reduced negative torque that the large bearing does.
    might be worth 3-5 hp, but you will never see that on a dyno.

If i was in the room with Jim and beano out of the 3 of us BOTH of them would still BE smarter than me.

Deuces and Montana1 like this.
  6. finn

finn

It's been a long time, but I recall that the early small journal 327s had a forged crankshaft, while the large journal cranks were cast.

Overall crank strength may be similar though, given that larger journals generally mean more pin overlap.

1Nimrod and henryj1951 like this.
  7. falcongeorge

falcongeorge
    from BC

I'm not so sure about that...

henryj1951 likes this.
  8. slowmotion

slowmotion

I seem to recall certain M/P guys sought the small journal cranks for twisting those screamers into the twilight zone (& beyond). :eek: