Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Glass '32 5 Window

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Splitbudaba, Feb 6, 2017.

1. Splitbudaba

Splitbudaba

I have responded on a few other threads, guess it's time to start one of my own. I started with a dream, an idea, and went from there. I bought fiberglass 32' 5 window body from the nice people at R&R Fiberglass, they hand laminate the entire body, to get fairly consistent thickness. That allowed me to install a complete UPAC interior structure, wood and steel. They all fit in with little to no modification except for the chop. Bought a perimeter frame and had a ball designing and figuring out what parts would work together, and give me the look I want. I've been working on her for 2 years. I think the build is the best part, driving is great, but the build is the best! Here are the most recent pics. Great day when I pushed her out in the driveway!!!!! IMG_2475.JPG IMG_2476.JPG

2. SWEET! I like the build more than the drive too. I do drive mine, but not that much. I'm always tinkering with it, or something else.

3. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

looks good - but many here will not accept a glass body/full aftermarket chassis as part of the traditional world

hrm2k, Big mike 1968 and HellsHotRods like this.
  4. Great looking project.
    Keep at it!
    Very interested in your chop. Exactly how did you do that? You got pics? I'm considering a 34 coupe glass body but would like to do a "Bonneville" chop or similar.
    Like to learn what all is involved. Not like a metal car I'm guessing...

5. Splitbudaba

Splitbudaba

I didn't start this thread for any ones acceptance! I thought I might be able to share my ideas. I don't have the extra $20,000 for genie steel or a repop body. Hot rods are about creativity and finding a new way to accomplish the task at hand!

Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
    hd1084, 1biggeorge, Jibs and 84 others like this.
  6. flynbrian48

flynbrian48