Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Sbc Mounts

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by sbf001, Sep 24, 2016.

1. sbf001

sbf001
    from New York

I am just getting started on my roadster project. I am using a small block Chevy 283 and 1931 A rails. What is the best way to mount a sbc? I've seen motor plates and frame cradles. Just wondering what mounts others have used.
    Thanks

henryj1951 likes this.
  2. Hombre

Hombre

depends on which 283 you have. Does it have side mount boss's?

henryj1951 likes this.
  3. sbf001

sbf001
    from New York

Motor is from 1966 I can check it out tomorrow.

henryj1951 likes this.
  4. falcongeorge

falcongeorge
    from BC

You have side mount bosses.

lothiandon1940 likes this.

5. haileyp1014

haileyp1014
    from so cal

image.png image.png Couple pics from pinkies hot rods

henryj1951 and lothiandon1940 like this.
  6. bab59

bab59

Buy some 1962 Impala V8 Motor mounts and fab frame to engine based off them. Real simple design with rubber insulation.

henryj1951 likes this.
  7. el Scotto

el Scotto
    from Tracy, CA

You can use either the side or front mounts, either works well. I home fabbed front mounts on my last Model A and the current one got side mounts only because I had them in a box of junk. I think they're trifive Chevy truck swap mounts and I'll whittle away at them until the don't look like ass.

ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1474785639.820532.jpg

henryj1951 and mike bowling like this.
  8. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I saw this on an A Sedan last weekend at the East West Flathead run.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Very simple and easy to fabricate.

henryj1951 likes this.
  9. Since you placed this question in the traditional forum; probably the most fitting mount would be a Hurst saddle mount or Speedway's copy. Depending on your other build choices some Chassis Eng mounts as Mr48chev posted above may suit your needs for something sorta old looking due to the use of Ford style biscuits.